GCSE Religious Education

Open book next to a candle and log fire

Religious Studies GCSE – a brief introduction

Oxford Open Learning’s Religious Studies course allows you to study up to 6 religions, Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism.  However, for the exam you will only need to refer to two religions so it is up to you how many of these you choose to study in depth.

which ever religions you choose will be studied through the themes shown in the content tab below

The Oxford Open Learning Course is split into 22 lessons and students will complete 11 Tutor-marked assignments including two practice examination papers

This is a completely new course written by Cynthia Bartlett, AQA examiner and series editor for Nelson Thorne’s new series of six AQA GCSE Religious Studies textbooks.

Religious Studies GCSE course content

At Oxford Open Learning we have selected Unit 1: ‘Religion and Citizenship’, and Unit 6: ‘Worship and Key Beliefs’ from the six possible units of study available in the AQA specification as the basis for our GCSE Religious Studies course.

Unit 1

students study five topics and may focus on one or two religions from a choice of six: Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and Sikhism.

In Unit 1, students study the following 5 topics:

1  Religion and Relationships
2  Religion, Sport and Leisure
3  Religion and Work
4  Religion and the Multicultural Society
5  Religion and Human Rights

Unit 6

there are again five topics; students study each of these with reference to two religions.  They may opt for the same two religions throughout the Unit, or study two different religions (out of the six named above) in relation to each topic.

In Unit 6, students study the following 5 topics:

1  Places of Worship
2  Worship
3  Pilgrimage
4  Origins and Beliefs
5  Practices and Belonging

The course includes an introductory lesson to each unit and a wide range of activities in each lesson.  Half of the 22 lessons conclude with a self-assessment test, and the remainder with a tutor-marked assignment. The course also includes a tutor-marked mock exam.

To participate in all course activities, students should have access to the internet. However, it is  possible to complete the course without internet access.  Please see the course introduction for further details.


The Religious Studies Specification

The AQA GCSE Religious Education course, Specification B Ethics, Philosophy and Religion in Society, 4055,  is assessed by a modular exam comprising two Units which may be taken separately or together.

The Religious Studies Examination

In the Religious Education GCSE exam, students must answer questions on five out of the six topics included in each Unit of the specification.  As the Oxford Open Learning Religious Education course includes five topics for study in each unit,  in order to gain the most benefit from the course, students should answer questions on these topics and ignore questions based on the sixth topic which they will not have studied as part of their course.

In the Unit 6 exam, students must answer questions on two out of the six religions.  For each question, students may refer to any two of the six religions in their answer.  So students could choose to focus only on two religions for all of Unit 6, or they may focus on two different religions in each of the five topics.  This gives students a wide range of choice as to how many of the six religions they wish to study in Unit 6.

As the exam is modular, students may take their Unit 1 exam at the end of their first year of study, and the Unit 6 exam at the end of their second year of study.  Or they make take both together at the end of Year 1, or both at the end of Year 2. Each exam is worth half a GCSE, and students must pass both in order to achieve a full GCSE.

Supporting Resources

Stay Connected