Image of Maths equiptment including calculator, protractor and rubber

The Maths GCSE course gently guides the student through basic mathematical skills, progressing onto more advanced material as the student’s skills and abilities develop. The Maths GCSE course is divided into two parts: the first is for all students; the second is for those who will be taking the Higher tier of the examination.

Each lesson begins with a set of clearly stated objectives and an explanation of its place in the overall programme of study.

Effective learning is encouraged through frequent activities and self-assessment questions.

There are thirteen tutor-marked assignments and a practice exam paper.

The course covers the entire syllabus in 13 modules, with a 14th on the examination.

The Maths GCSE course covers the following Key Topics as well as many others.  The full list can be found in the Introduction to the Maths GCSE course.

  • Numbers, money and measurement
  • Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Statistics and Probability
  • Indices and inequalities
  • Graphs


Our Maths GCSE course prepares students for AQA GCSE Mathematics syllabus AQA 4365 for examination in June 2015 onwards. We have chosen this syllabus as the most suited to distance learning.


Assessment is by two written papers. Paper 1 (non-calculator) is worth 40% and Paper 2 (calculator) is worth 60% .

The Maths GCSE syllabus has two tiers, Foundation and Higher.  The Foundation level allows students to achieve grades between G – C and the Higher tier allows students to achieve grades D – A*. Unlike many, Oxford Open Learning’s Maths GCSE Course is split into these two tiers.  Once you have completed the work required to enter for the Foundation tier, you can choose whether to go on and study for the Higher tier and achieve a higher grade, all for the same fee!

Supporting Resources

Stay Connected